Celiac Awareness Month

Wow!  It is June and  2013 is now officially at the 1/2 way point.  Plus we just wrapped up Celiac Awareness Month on May 31st.

What a month.

It is only logical (GAH!  Star Trek) to start with the bad.  By bad I mean, Holy Shizzballs Major Media Outlets, Do You Have Your Head Up Your **edited**!  I mean really.  How hard can it be to have an intern do 5 minutes of simple internet research to get facts?  Apparently it is almost impossible for that to happen.  GlutenDude continued his fantastic, award-winning run of sarcastically dealing with the media stupidity out there and sounding the horn for the rest of us to learn where to direct our ire.  The first idiot spewing off on GF was Rush Limbaugh.  What made me laugh is that the GF community apparently is as fed up with his BS that none of us decided it was worth talking about.  Maybe because he flip-flopped his opinion so much that you ended up not totally sure what the heck he was ranting on.  And we didn’t want to give him the press he so obviously longs for.

Mid-month we had the Disney Channel brouhaha.  A show they air, JESSIE, had an episode where they a) went on about a character having 5 pages of allergies, and then b) had one of the “hero” characters throw pancakes at the allergy boy because he was “annoying.  Way to go Disney.  Let’s show that bullying and picking on someone just because they are irritating you is the way to handle the situation.  This disappointed me most of all because the theme parks are so allergen friendly.  If you aren’t familiar with the episode, the GlutenDude response, and what we as a community accomplished, well…the hyperlinks are there for ya.

Of course, the media crap didn’t end there.  Nope.  Chelsea Handler, who I understand is allergic to Gluten.  Seriously, this was awful and ignorant of the people who have to follow the Gluten Free diet because if they don’t they could DIE!  And then lastly, because we have not endured enough of a media shizz storm, we got a mention on the Today Show 4th hour by Hoda Kotbi.  Well…..yeah.  *sigh*  MAKE IT STOP!!!  Granted, we got a kind of apology, you know, the kind a 4-year-old gives when their mom tells them to apologize for something and they don’t really want to.  All this shows me is that we, as a Gluten Intolerant/Celiac community, need to get out there and start educating how important, and life saving, the gluten-free lifestyle (cuz it is not a diet) is for us.

So, if I am calling for action, what did I do?

Well, I wore a Crave Bakeshop t-shirt to a Doctor Who conference.

photo

With Carole Barrowman. Author and sister to a certain rogue Captain.

I wore green.  A lot.  Considering it is my favorite color, that was not too much of a stretch.  Heck, I own 5(!) different shades of green nail polish.  So I rock the Celiac Awareness color year round.

There was a bit of a heated e-mail conversation with the owner of a restaurant that handed me her card at the Chicago GFAF expo and invited me to try her Gluten Free Breakfast.  Except that it is cooked on the same surface as the Glutenous ingredients and with just a little bit of a clean-up.  Granted, I ate when i was there, knowing the risks, but I don’t know if the upset stomach I had after was from being upset or from being glutened.  Needless to say, she still seems to think that having GF ingredients makes her GF, I cannot convince her otherwise, and I learned what it was like to, hypothetically, bang your head into a brick wall.

There was the Dining Out with Bruce event at DaLuciano’s this month.  To say that I ate a lot of food would be an insult to a lot of food.  I think there was about a TON of food to be had.  Just when we thought we were done, MORE came out!!  This event was such a unifier for the Chicago GF community as it brought so many different people together at an event where you had to talk to your neighbor and learn a bit more.  Plus the food was AMAZING!

Chi GF love at Da Luciano's

Chi GF love at Da Luciano’s

 

Just a bit of our feast

Just a bit of our feast

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I did my best to try to educate my company about Gluten Free, and why it is important to have options available when there is a company wide event.  Apples, salt and pepper do not make a full, or happy, employee.

Finally hit up the Grand Rapids Gluten Free Food Fair.  Talk about being impressed!  Well, mostly.  One of my favorite companies had a rather dismal “booth”.  Other than that, so many local restaurants came out with knowledge about cross contamination and provide safe food samples it was inspiring.  Plus I got to meet Willy O, who makes an award-winning GF Pizza!  if you live in West Michigan, make sure you Google this FREE event next year.  It is worth attending.

The game of phone tag with the company that operates the food service locations at the United Center ended.  I finally discovered why they only have their GF booth open during sporting events, and gave them a suggestion or two to make life a bit easier for the GF attendee at other events.

I supported smaller Gluten Free companies.  I now own so much Celiac and the Beast wear, it is kind of scary.  But I know if she has a v-neck, I am scooping that up!  Plus there was the end of the month purchase for some more eyeshadow from Red Apple Lipstick.  I’ve purchased from them at the Chicago Expo the last 2 years, but had never done anything online.  Until I read this story on their blog.  How could I not chip in and help out?  We are a COMMUNITY after all.

Except for that minor Twitter disagreement I had with someone who wants people to eat GF his way, aka only the savory not so much the sweet.  I agree that there are a lot of sweet GF recipes out there, but am of the opinion it is because replicating the taste and texture of the sweet is harder to do than to replicate flavors of the savory.  We did agree that the GF community needs to be health conscious, but doesn’t everyone?  Communities do not always see eye-to-eye, it is about how we work together to get over our differences that is important.

And on the very last day of the month, I became the first actor featured on GlutenLibre.com’s GF Performers site.  Pretty kick-ass.

I probably did more, but really, all I did this month was live my life.  It may, or may not have, helped raise awareness of Celiac Disease.  But if I can educate and make a dent in my corner, then I would say it was a pretty good month.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 961 other followers

