Product Review — Kyra’s Bake Shop Snickerdoodle Mix

I have said it before and I will say it again: I am not a cook. My kitchen and I do not get along very well. To be completely honest, I have one outlet in my kitchen I can get to and my microwave is hooked up to it. So, I do not own a hand mixer, let alone a stand mixer. When I mix anything, it is by hand and it is always a bit of a prayer that my gas oven gets to the right temperature.

That being said, I have always enjoyed playing around with light baking. If the recipe is simple, I am your girl. If it is a box mix, well, that is just an added bonus. I don’t bake often though, because I live alone and am always on a diet.

At the Chicago GFAF Expo, I was a lucky recipient of a box of the Snickerdoodle Cupcake Mix from two-time(!) CUPCAKE WARS Champion, Kyra Bussanich. I met Kyra a year ago, after her first victory but before the 2nd, and was super excited to try out this mix. It had to be for the right reason and  a friend in town from California followed by a birthday celebration for Frannycakes certainly qualified in my book!

Ready to go with the Snickerdoodle mix!

Ready to go with the Snickerdoodle mix!

The texture of the mix is super fine.  It actually required a bit of shaking of the bag to make sure I had it all out.  This excited me because it was different from what I am used to with gluten-filled cake mixes and the thick, clumpy mix.  Not this!  After I whipped some butter by hand for 2 Kelly Clarkson songs (or 6-8 minutes according to the directions), I accidentally skipped a step in the instructions and added the wet ingredients to the mix.

Looks good and ready to go into cups.

Looks good and ready to go into cups.

So other than making a baker cringe when I mentioned skipping a step, I think a full-on body twitch occurred when I told her I mixed the batter with a fork, as I find it helps eliminate clumps better than a spoon.  You are all allowed to yell at me.  Anyway, there was a minor panic attack when I discovered my lack of a cupcake pan and the presence of mini cupcake cups.  Thank goodness for some ingenuity on my part.

Ingenuity.  Note:  Do not do this again unless you like funky shapes

Ingenuity. Note: Do not do this again unless you like funky shapes

After some playing with my rarely used oven and figuring out baking time, this is what the mix produced:

The finished product, dusted with cinnamon sugar

The finished product, dusted with cinnamon sugar

Since I used Earth Balance as my butter, they did not rise that much.  But even with all my kitchen foibles, these cupcakes were AMAZING!!!  At the party multiple people went back for 2nds, 3rds, 4ths, 10ths.  They were a hit with everyone telling me that they could not believe they were Gluten Free.

I am really hoping that these get into stores soon, as this is going to be my go-to mix brand whenever I have to make something.  If you are not adventurous enough to try the Snickerdoodle, these are also available in Chocolate and Vanilla.  Easy, tasty, and passing the non-GF taste test equals something that I highly recommend you seek out.

5 responses

  1. #1, I just made my Snickerdoodle mix this weekend too!

    #2, do we have the same kitchen? A temperature fickle stove and no mixer? I used a whisk to get all the lumps out. Kyra is probably cringing so hard at the both of us right now. Luckily her mix was so good you could probably mess it up worse than us and it would still turn out delish!

    1. #1 — I saw. I topped mine with Cinnamon Sugar and LOVED it!

      #2 — It is entirely possible. Do you only have 1 usable outlet? What’s a whisk?? I made Frannycakes cringe, and I had plenty of fun shapes thanks to the pie pan experiment, but I think this mix is kitchen idiot (me) proof! =D

  2. Oh my gahhhhhh! I’m glad you enjoyed it though!

    1. How did I know it would give you fits?? But look on the bright side, if I can make it a success with my limited and improvised resources, ANYONE can! =D

  3. And they were truly delish! First sugar I’d had for a good long while, and worth going back for more. (except my belly didn’t like me that much the next day…)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 961 other followers

