Great Big GF BBQ — I’ll Bring Wine (and Dessert)

When Frannycakes invited me to join in the Great Big Gluten-Free Barbecue, I jumped at the chance.  I love get togethers (virtual or in person), and I love food.  My first thought was great, I’ll do like I do in real life and grab a couple of bottles of white wine (preferable a Pinot Grigio or Sauvignon Blanc), maybe a bag of chips and call it good.

greatbigglutenfreebarbecue

Then I read it was a recipe event.  Well.  Darn.  If you have been reading this blog then you know that I am not much of a chef.  Guess that means more wine for me since I had already run out and bought some.

My family was never one to barbecue, but we did campfires A LOT.  But when I was thinking on something I could do for this I thought back to my happy place, Walt Disney World.  On those really hot days of summer, I loved that the option was always there for me to swing by the Main Street Bakery or Sleepy Hollow in Liberty Square and get 2 hot chocolate chip cookies with a slab of ice cream in between.

I have yet to master an easy GF chocolate chip cookie.  So this is to my take on a Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookie recipe that has been around forever.  My mom found it when my Grandma was diagnosed in 1999-2000-ish (she was 76!) and they quickly became a family favorite.  I have no clue who made it originally, I am not trying to step on any toes, I just want to share my favorite treat — with a bit of a “Mel” twist to it.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Mel’s Tribute to the WDW Main Street Bakery:   GF Peanut Butter Cookie Ice Cream Sandwiches

  • 1 regular size jar of Peanut Butter (or your fave PB substitute)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 1 bag of your favorite GF chocolate chips
  • 1 container of your favorite vanilla ice cream

Preheat oven to 350.

Combine the peanut butter, egg and sugar.  Once they are mixed together, add in as many of the chocolate chips as you want.  Use a teaspoon to scoop and roll into balls, then place on a cookie sheet lined with aluminum foil.

Flatten the balls (oh, my mind just went there.  Sorry guys) with a fork.  Sprinkle the top of the cookies with sugar.

Bake 13-18 minutes and remove to a wire rack to cool

Open ice cream.  Grab a tablespoon and 2 cookies.  Scoop the ice cream and place on one cookie then place the other on top.  AMAZING if the cookies are still a little warm, still good if they have cooled off.

These make about 2 dozen cookies, so if you are going where there is a crowd you might want to double the recipe.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I made these for a non-GF party last year and they were the first desert gone!  It’s always good for the ego when the Gluten Free treats are devoured and other snacks take longer to vanish.

If you want more recipes, visit the brains behind this virtual BBQ, the fabulously talented Frannycakes, and see what others are bringing to pass:  http://wp.me/p1HfLM-Uz 

Enjoy and if you want to find me, I’ll be by the wine.

2 responses

  1. […] made Coleslaw Alison from A Girl Defloured made Strawberry Basil Paletas Mel from GeekilyGF made Peanut Butter Ice Cream Sandwiches Erica from Celiac and the Beast dishes barbecue survival advice with Don’t Burn Bridges Or […]

  2. I love those cookies! The recipe comes from Betty Hagman’s Gluten Free Gourmet cookbook. They were also a big hit when I was diagnosed around that same time… Not a lot if GF options and easy to find ingredients and make. Love the ice cream sandwich spin… I’ll have to try them that way.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 961 other followers

